Erik Weijers, a year ago

India won’t ban crypto, instead will tax it

India is one of a series of countries that has recently backtracked on their strong anti-crypto stance. India's finance minister announced that she would allow crypto ownership and announced a 30% tax on any income from the transfer of crypto. That's a hefty rate but at least gives clarity on the legal status of crypto. Therefore, insiders see the statement as good for crypto adoption in the country, which has a potential user base of over a billion crypto owners.

The CEO of WazirX, one of India's largest crypto exchanges, says of the news, "India is finally on the path to legitimising the crypto sector."

India's sign that they won’t ban crypto any time soon is important. So is the announcement, in the same statement, that the country is going to introduce a digital rupee. Many countries are working on this: China is at the most advanced stage of introducing its own Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC). Although many crypto enthusiasts are not exactly fans of CBDCs, their introduction is nevertheless bullish for crypto: it makes the threshold for integrating crypto into everyone's lives much lower.

Developments in Russia and Indonesia

Like in India, lawmakers from several countries have been revisiting previously expressed negative stances over the last week. In the Soviet Union, the Central Bank called for a complete ban on crypto, just over a week ago. The Russian government, through Putin, quickly backtracked on that statement.

Indonesia has also issued a statement that they will allow trading in Bitcoin, Ethereum and a long list of other coins. However, some coins are excluded from trading. For example, Doge is allowed to be traded, but Shiba Inu is not. Like India, Indonesia is a country that has often expressed negative legal stances on crypto.

Featured articles
Four trading strategies for crypto
Bitcoin and Ethereum: what are the differences?
What determines the Bitcoin price?
Related articles
Bitcoin activists shine a beacon of hope on the ECB tower

Mar 30, 2023

There are true believers out there who think that the world can be saved with and through Bitcoin. Some argue that they are completely out of their minds while others listen and try to figure out if this perspective reveals at least an ounce of truth. Sticking to the narrative that many Bitcoiners are following, the truth is that institutions like the ECB have become obsolete and do more harm than good.

Trade anytime, anywhere

Boost your trading impact and reaction time in over 80+ cryptocurrencies via instant access to your portfolio with the LiteBit app.

  • 2525 Ventures B.V.
  • 3014 DA Rotterdam
  • The Netherlands
More info
  • About LiteBit
  • Careers
  • Support
  • Sell
  • News
  • Education
  • Affiliates
Subscribe for updates

Sign up to stay informed via our email updates

Explore popular coins
© 2023 LiteBit - All rights reserved